Circular Economy: European Priority - No time to waste!

Brussels, Belgium

Co-hosted by Members of the European Parliament:

Dario Tamburrano (EFDD), Renata Briano (S&D), Benedek Jávor (Greens/EFA)

Florenz Karl-Heinz (EPP), Gerben-Jan Gerbrandy (ALDE), Mark Demesmaeker (ECR), Iosu Juaristi Abaunz (GUE/NGL)







Co-organised with:




European Parliament – Room A1E2

Wednesday, October 21st 2015

14h30 – 19h30


14h00                    Registration & Welcome Coffee


14h30 – 14h50    Welcome Speeches

14h30 – 14h40    Organising MEPs: Dario Tamburrano, Renata Briano, Benedek Jávor

14h40 – 14h50    Luxembourg Ministry for Sustainable Development and Infrastructure – Head of Environment Agency – Robert Schmit


14h50 – 15h30    Setting the Scene (chair: Benedek Jávor)

14h50 – 15h00    “Outcomes of the European Public Consultation” – EU Commission – Deputy Head of Unit A1: Eco-innovation and Circular Economy: Karolina D’Cunha

15h00 – 15h10    “The Circular Economy in Europe”ACR+ – Secretary General: Françoise Bonnet

15h10 – 15h20    “Setting the right priorities: Towards a fact-based Circular Economy” – Circular Economy Coalition for Europe: Prof. Dr. Christoph Scharff

15h20 – 15h35    Q&A

15h35 – 15h45    Interview with Roberto Cavallo (“the Waste Specialist”) Main interpreter of “100kg less – Recipes for a dustbin diet” (chair: Dario Tamburrano)

15h45 – 17h45    Roundtable Discussions “Towards the New Circular Economy Strategy”

15h45 – 16h45    Roundtable A) Extraction of resources; Design, Production, Distribution and Consumption of goods (chair: Dario Tamburrano)


EAPN – Director – Barbara Helfferich


S&D: Massimo Paolucci

Greens/EFA: Benedek Jávor

EFDD: Piernicola Pedicini


ECOS: Energy Policy Officer, Standardisation – Christoforos Spiliotopoulos

Business Europe: Adviser on Industrial Affairs – Jan Bambas

AICA: Editor in chief for – Emanuela Rosio

ZWE: Executive Director – Joan-Marc Simon

 16h35-16h45      Q&A

 16h45-17h45      Roundtable B) Repair, Reuse, Waste Management and Recycling (chair: Renata Briano)


EAPN – Director – Barbara Helfferich



EPP: Karl-Heinz Florenz

ECR: Mark Demesmaeker

ALDE: Gerben-Jan Gerbrandy

GUE: Iosu Juaristi Abaunz


EEB: Policy Officer on Waste- Piotr Barczak

FEAD: Secretary General – Nadine De Greef

Municipal Waste Europe: Secretary General – Vanya Veras

RREUSE: Director – Michal Len

17h35-17h45      Q&A


17h45 – 18h05    Way forward to the New Circular Economy Strategy (chair: Dario Tamburrano): Commissioner for Environment, Maritime Affairs and Fisheries: Karmenu Vella

18h05 – 19h20    Best practices …in a Movie (chair: Dario Tamburrano): Screening of “100 kilos less – Recipes for a dustbin diet

19h25 – 19h30    Final Remarks and conclusions by hosting MEPs

19h30                   Reception


To register please send an email to

Places are limited, register by Monday 19th of October.

If you do not have an accreditation badge to the European Parliament, please send also the following details: family name – first name – date of birth – nationality – type of ID card – ID card/passport number


Registration desk the day of the event

Where: Place Luxembourg, Espace Léopold opposite the Altiero Spinelli entrance.

What time: between 13h30 and 15h00 (after that, please contact the numbers reported below);


How to get there:

Metro: line 2 towards Elisabeth, get out at Trône and walk to Parliament (5 min); line 1 or 5 to Maelbeek and walk to Parliament (10 min).

Bus: number 27, 34, 38, 80, 95, 12 to/from the airport (after 8pm number 21), 22, 27, 64. Bus stop: Lussembourg

Train: there are different ways depending on which station you are travelling from:

  • Bruxelles-Luxembourg station is opposite the main Parliament building.
  • Bruxelles-Central: connection via bus number 38 (towards Héros), Luxembourg stop or metro connection (lines 1 or 5) to Maelbeek;
  • Bruxelles-Midi stations: take metro line 2 (towards Elisabeth), stop at Trône.

What to bring: the ID card you provided for your registration;


Key contacts:

Tamburrano MEP (office): +32 228 47524

Simona Suardi (mobile): +32 485424733